top of page

Guy Salamon is an award winning jazz drummer, composer, arranger, recording artist and band leader. Known for his work with his own octet, the 'Guy Salamon Group', as well as an established collaborator in the European jazz scene. He is the winner of  the Keep an Eye Records competition, the Dutch Jazz Competition and Prinses Christina Jazz Concours. 

“Guy Salamon is one of the most outstanding talents of the current Amsterdam scene. His music is vital, powerful, exudes a jazz feeling and is averse to false pretensions.” Jazzenzo

His debut album 'Unfollow The Leader' was released in 2019, consisting of all own compositions and marks the first album with his ‘Guy Salamon Group’, featuring Alistair Payne (trumpet), Ian Cleaver (trumpet), José Soares (alto saxophone), Lucas Martínez (tenor saxophone), Teis Semey (guitar), Youngwoo Lee (piano) and special guests Fuensanta, Sarah Zeleznik and Veronika Kumar on vocals.

Following this success, his following record  'Creatures! Creatures!' was released in 2022, again showcasing the 'Guy Salamon Group' and was chosen by national newspaper NRC in the Top 25 Best Dutch Albums of 2022.


Born in April 1989 into a musical family, his mother is an orchestral conductor and former opera singer from England and his father a salsa-rock singer-songwriter from Peru. He started playing piano at age 5, transitioning to drums just before his 13th birthday, as he began his jazz studies at the local high-school for the arts. 

Commencing his academic jazz studies at The Center for Jazz Studies & New School NY, Guy obtained his diploma in 2013. Subsequently, he moved to Amsterdam, graduating from the Conservatorium van Amsterdam in 2018.

Since settling in the Netherlands, Guy Salamon has become a prominent figure in both local and international jazz scenes, showcasing his talents as a drummer, composer, band leader, and sideman. His performances span across Europe, including notable festivals such as the North Sea Jazz Festival and JazzAhead and international tours including Korea, Brazil, Mexico, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Ireland, England, Scotland, Germany, Belgium, France,  Poland, Czech Republic, Croatia and  Sweden.

bottom of page